A Wise Man

Yesterday was the first sunny day of the last ten, so I decided to take my two wee ones (Jessie 9, and Johnny 5) to the park. Jessie insisted they bring their scooters.

Jessie zips around like a pro, but Johnny is still finding his sea legs on the thing, so I was pleased to find him cautious when it came to the hills.

When Jessie flew down one, he took a few tentative steps before opting out. I said to him, “John, I think that was very wise of you not to go down that hill.”

I thought nothing more of my comment, but clearly it had made an impression on him.

On the way home John and I watched Jessie take another hill. He looked up at me and said, “Dad, when you get bigger you get wiser.” He held up his fingers, “See, I’m this wise, but you’re this wise, because you’re bigger.”

As he watched Jessie zip away he said, “She’s not wise because she’s not a man.” Clearly inserting a piece of the Christmas story he said, “You see, a wise man.”

Now, it all made sense to him.

This entry was posted in Family Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Wise Man

  1. Jenny Carswell says:

    I’m not sure I agree with his Philosophy but I certainly understand his logic. I can’t believe how much he has changed. He just looks so different. It’s time I came over and saw him for myself.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

