Yes.

For those of you who might be interested to know, this is my 200th post for this blog. A free T-shirt for the 200th reader! (By the way, if you click on the ads I get paid for it!).

Sometimes your ears just itch to hear what they want to hear.

Children are masters of the art and regularly play one parent off against the other.

“Daddy said ‘yes.’”

“I know that, but I told you ‘no’ before you talked to Daddy!”

It doesn’t matter. One ‘yes’ trumps all the ‘no’s.’ It makes them seem petty in comparison.

Yesterday I heard the ‘yes’ I’d been looking for the past several weeks. I was talking to someone in the “nationalization office.” I’m not sure what that is but it sounds official. It was certainly official enough for me.

“Yes, you can bring the children into the country on their US passports. No, it’s not a problem that Mummy has a resident visa and Daddy has a UK passport.”

“The children won’t be denied entry at the border?”

“No. You can apply for a UK passport after they get settled here in the UK.”

“So I can bring my family over now instead of having to wait for the children to apply for their UK passport from the US?”

“Yes.”

The word loomed large in my mind, eclipsing all the ‘no’s’ that had preceded it. They were no longer relevant. They had lost their power. My itching ears had heard what they wanted to hear.

God knows the power of yes and teaches in scripture that “all the promises of God are ‘Yes’ in Jesus Christ” (2 Corinthians 1:20). That is, everything that comes before Jesus is made sure by his ministry and his ongoing presence. Jesus validates the goodness and the favor of God towards His creation.

So, I am going home to collect my family and when we enter the UK in a couple weeks time I will stand tall in the sure knowledge of a singular, all powerful ‘Yes’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

